• Member Spotlight: Josh T.

    JoshTalskyName: Josh Talsky

    Age: 32

    Location: Uptown Minneapolis

    Movement Minneapolis member since: October 2015

     

    What’s your athletic/fitness background? 

    Trained with an RKC Team Leader for two years prior to joining Movement. Before that, I might’ve gone to the gym a couple times per month.

     

    What’s been the biggest change for you since joining the Movement? 

    I’ve stopped looking at going to the gym as a chore and have noticed that it’s something I look forward to near the end of the day.

     

    What’s been your favorite Movement moment so far? 

    Going out for pizza with everyone after Million Pound November. It was a great way to celebrate what we’d all accomplished. 

     

    Tell us about your most memorable PR. 

    My first deadlift PR was a wake-up call for me to see what I was capable of and now has me focusing on that movement much more.

     

    Do you have a favorite exercise or training style? 

    Working with kettlebells just because I’ve become comfortable with them. It’s also a great piece of equipment that doesn’t take up much space in your house and can provide a total-body workout.

    IMG_7662

     

    How about your least favorite exercise/workout? 

    I have a special hatred reserved for the Kettlebell Snatch Test.

     

    Do you prefer training solo or with a partner/team? 

    I’m more comfortable training solo. I tend to zone everything else out when I get going.

     

    When did you know you were hooked? 

    The Million Pound November event turned “going to the gym” into a competition. That gave me another reason to go and even had me working out at home just to get more volume in. After that, I knew I was hooked…and pretty sore.

     

    How do you spend your days when you’re not at the gym? 

    I work from home, so I’m either sitting on the computer, drawing, or taking my dog out around Lake of the Isles. Besides that, I like to travel when I have the opportunity.

     

    What do you think people would be surprised to know about you? 

    When I lived in Milwaukee, I surfed Lake Michigan year-round.

     

    Any secret/hidden talents? 

    I have some decent woodworking skills and have built several pieces of furniture for myself and friends.

    josh_surf

     

    What’s your favorite post-workout meal? 

    I like to eat a big stir-fry after working out.

     

    What’s your next training goal? 

    I’d like to be able to press two beasts, but until then, I’m generally focused on improving my PRs.

     

    Do you have any advice for people starting out? 

    Focus on form and take your time.

     

    How can people connect with you? 

    On Facebook (Joshua Talsky) as well as Instagram (@jtalsky).